The Question today is from Greg Morrison who writes:
So in our game on Wednesday we were inside the oppositions blue line. The puck was cleared out past the blue line with a couple of our players still inside their blue line. The referee blew it down and called it offside. I thought if the opposing team plays the puck back in their end with our players still not clearing the zone that the play still goes on and there is no offside. Your thoughts?
Well Greg, it doesn't matter whether the play you described occurs in an NHL game or a Beer League, the rule remains the same--No offside and play on!
For your future reference to share with the referee the next time you see him, quote rule 83.2 (Deflections / Rebounds) which states;
"When a defending player propels the puck out of his defending zone and the puck clearly rebounds off a defending player in the neutral zone back into the defending zone, all attacking players are eligible to play the puck. However, any action by an attacking player that causes a deflection/rebound off a defending player in the neutral zone back into the defending zone (i.e., stick check, body check, physical contact), a delayed off-side shall be signaled by the Linesmen."
So Greg, unless a member of your team caused a deflection by any of the above actions, the Ref blew his whistle (and the call) in error.