In last Thursdays game between the Habs and Lightning, Ben Bishop came way out of his crease to save a breakaway but then right away gloved pass (Hand Pass) to one of his players outside of the blue line and they sped off quickly and had a good scoring chance. Luckily Price was sharp. Doesn't the Hand Pass apply to the goalie as well for hand passes outside their zone?
Thank you and congratulations on the new endeavor!
You are correct in your rule interpretation and play should have been stopped by any of the Officials once Tampa goalkeeper, Ben Bishop utilized an illegal hand pass to slide the puck from within his defending zone to his teammate, Brayden Point in the neutral zone. View the play here
Players are permitted to push a puck along the ice with his hand unless, in the opinion of the on-ice officials, he has directed the puck to a teammate, or has allowed his team to gain an advantage, and subsequently possession and control of the puck is obtained by a player of the offending team, either directly or deflected off any player or official--rule 79.1.
However, play will not be stopped for any hand pass by players in their own defending zone. (While not specifically named this includes a goalkeeper in his defending zone.) A hand pass in the defending zone is considered to have occurred when both the player making the pass (Bishop) and the player receiving the pass (Point) have both of their skates inside the defending zone--rule 79.2
Ben Bishop won the race for the loose puck and took down Andrew Shaw with a stacked-pad slide, momentarily covered the puck with his catching glove and then slid the puck toward the far-side blue line and out of his defending zone.
Notice the position of Bishop's apparent visual focus in the above shot--a real 'heads-up' play - since (below) we see that the entire zone to Bishop's left was clear. David Desharnais, the lone Habs fore-checker, approached from Bishop's right side and the Habs speedster's hand appeal to the Officials did not garner a whistle.
What make this play an illegal hand pass by Bishop was the fact that Point received the puck with both of his skates well over the blue line in the neutral zone as specified in rule 79.2. Bishop not only directed the puck to his teammate with his hand but a definite advantage was gained as Point led the rush into the attacking zone derived an excellent scoring opportunity. Play should have been stopped the moment that Point gained possession and control of the puck.
Goalkeepers are the only players on the ice that are allowed to handle the puck with their hands in such a way as to cover/conceal it, catch it and hold it for a stoppage and/or drop or slide it to a teammate by placing a glove over top of the puck. The "dropping" of the puck by a goalie to his teammate is allowed while it would be considered a hand pass from one skater to his teammate.
I'll share a brief rule history lesson if I may? The fact that the goalkeeper is/and has always been afforded special privileges in handling the puck, rule 67.3 specifies that a goalkeeper shall be assessed a minor penalty when he "throws" the puck "forward" towards the opponents net. Note the optimum here word is "throw" - not "slide"!
I had occasion to enforce this rule violation at least one time during my 30 year NHL career when I assessed the penalty to Reggie Lemelin in a game at the Boston Garden. Reggie whipped an underhand pass to his teammate near the Bruins blue line. Everyone looked confused when play stopped and I imposed the penalty, including Lemelin.
This is not your everyday infraction, similarly to a goalie committing an illegal hand pass from deep inside his defending zone. In both situations the Officials have to be prepared for the unexpected and react accordingly.